Poetry corner – Nostalgia

15 Jun

Nostalgia

I’m flying back to yesterday

at thirty thousand feet

Shedding years from my mind’s eye

and wondering who I’ll meet

Been over half a life ago

A teenaged year away

It shaped my life, my appetites

For better or worse, it made me what I am today

So I’ll indulge nostalgia

and kiss her tender face

Surrender to her tempting wiles

and let her take me to her magic place

Her love may be illusion

But it’s a powerful embrace

So I’ll indulge nostalgia

and kiss her tender face

Next week I’m back to real time

My home and kids and wife

Trade reality for memories

and end another chapter of my life

The stories just keep piling up

A lifetime’s worth of friends

Some days it seems I’m starting out

while others feel like it could be the end…

So I’ll indulge nostalgia

and kiss her tender face

Surrender to her tempting wiles

and let her take me to her magic place

Her love may be illusion

But it’s a powerful embrace

So I’ll indulge nostalgia

and kiss her tender face

Leave a Reply

